Coral & Aqua Quilt Take Two

I created this quilt using extra fabric I had on hand from making a baby quilt for my niece last year.  My sister asked for coral and aqua colors with some grey.  In this quilt I added a few more neutral grays and beiges.  I love the simplicity of the rectangles and how the coral and aqua combine with the neutrals for a modern look.

IMG_2349

For the backing, I used a Riley Blake fabric with cute little animals on it called Woodland Tails.  And, I finally added a label to a quilt!  I wrote my own label with a  permanent pen and whipstitched it onto the back.  IMG_2358IMG_2359I quilted the fabric with vertical straight lines about an inch apart.  It’s probably some of the most dense quilting I have done and I love how crinkly and cozy it immediately looked when it came out of the dryer.
IMG_2361IMG_2353

I headed to the nearest park on my bike one afternoon to take photos.  This is the first quilt I’ve taken pictures of in Florida.  I took a few pictures of the quilt by climbing on top of some playground equipment and leaning over as far as I could to try to get a square picture.  It looked good on the preview but when I tried to rotate it in my editor, it was clear that I didn’t quite get it square.  I’m sure the park attendant enjoyed my antics though.

This is my first listing in my Etsy shop!  I’ve been planning to do this for about a year…and I dragged out the making of this quilt for about that long.  But I finally bit the bullet and opened a shop.  Of course Etsy recommended that I have put 10 items in my shop, but this was all I had.  (I’ve since added a couple more and I’m working to finish even more.)

Leave a Reply

