Casey and her Friends

Casey finally made it back to school yesterday.  Poor girl was sick on Friday and missed her second day of school.  With my free time yesterday, I made it to three grocery stores and got the groceries put away before I had to pick up the kids.  It’s amazing how fast I can scoot through the commissary when I’m not driving the big rig that Casey still calls the “car cart.”  I didn’t have to stop numerous times for someone to walk or to get back in the cart or to pick out fruit snacks or to look at all the random crap that only Jack can spy and ask for.

After the commissary I headed to the Natural Heritage Market.  I got a groupon for it back in June and was just waiting for school to start so I could look at things at my leisure.  I’m pretty sure it was the greenest, crunchiest, granola-iest store I’ve ever shopped.  Any item I’ve ever come across in a recipe and could never find at any other grocery store is there.  I’ve been looking for months for unsweetened coconut and no other store has it but I finally found it.  There is a great collection of bulk items and it’s worth shopping for them, but everything else was highly overpriced.

I wasn’t really intending to write about grocery stores, but it’s already done 🙂  Back to Casey.  Unlike Jack, she is more than willing to share with me what she does at school.  Unfortunately, I’m trying to figure out how many grains of salt I need with her stories.  This summer, she began telling me really nice stories about her “friends.”  Her friends are named Neela, Keela, Darma, Karma, Katie, and Caroline or maybe its the group with Nasa, Lacey, Meena and Kumba.  She starts talking about these girls and the random names just roll off her tongue.  If we’re driving somewhere, she’ll tell me that a friend lives in a house we just passed or down a certain road.  She also has a special friend who lives in a house near the beach we visited in Maine.  She talks about her a lot.  It was too rainy for her friend to come out and say hi while we were there though.  Needless to say, all these stories are made up but if you didn’t know her and you didn’t notice the suspicious names, you might actually believe her.

Now that she’s in school and I’m not with her to know exactly what happened, I’ll have to decide whether it’s a true story or not.  Luckily I know the names of a lot of the kids in her class.  Hopefully she’ll tell me some real stories about them!  I’m already trying to figure out if someone gave her a piece of cheese on her first day or she just made that up.

One thought on “Casey and her Friends

  1. She's SO adorable! Turner has started telling me random riddles. Today it was about a woman that transformed (operative word here) and we went on for about 20 minutes until I finally said “I dunno, a transformer?!?” Duh, Mommy…

    So you liked Heritage?!? I've been meaning to go. I get my unsweetened coconut and chocolate “amazin' grass” super food stuff from Nutrition S'Mart (out of FL). If you order from them and it's over $50 it (used to be) is free shipping.

    Like

Leave a comment